Prize Money

A player’s performances, world ranking and position on the Race to Dubai leaderboard are all tied in with how much money they make over the course of a year, and the European Tour offers some incredible prize funds at all of their tournaments to lure the leading golfers.

Rory McIlroy holds the record for the most Race to Dubai prize money won in a single season since the contest was launched in 2009, having earned over €7.1 million in 2014 – the year when he won The Open, US PGA Championship and two other European Tour titles.

2017 Rolex Series

A new series of events was set up for the start of the 2017 Race to Dubai, in association with the European Tour’s long-standing partner Rolex. The Rolex Series will feature seven tournaments with prize funds of at least $7 million.

As well as the crucial Turkish Airlines and Nedbank Challenge events which lead up to the end of the year, the other featured tournaments in the Rolex Series will be the BMW PGA Championship, the Dubai Duty Free Irish Open, the Aberdeen Asset Management Scottish Open and the Italian Open. The series will conclude with the DP World Tour Championship, when a prize pot of $8 million will be on offer.

Race to Dubai Bonus Pool

A bonus pool of $5 million is also split between the top ten players in the Race to Dubai standings at the end of the World Tour Championship, although this is not counted as official European Tour money and is not added to the final rankings.

The table below shows the Bonus Pool for the top ten finishers in 2016:

1 1,250,000
2 750,000
3 600,000
4 500,000
5 400,000
6 350,000
7 325,000
8 300,000
9 275,000
10 250,000